Law enforcement - EQUAL team

Law enforcement

Monitoring and sanctioning are needed whenever a policy is shaped using legal rules. Law without enforcement remains ineffective. EQUAL assists public authorities, companies, NGO’s and private citizens throughout enforcement trajectories.

Omnipresent, complex and varied

Law enforcement evolved strongly the past decennia. Law makers think increasingly in terms of enforcement models using criminal and administrative law in interconnected complementary ways. Thus the administrative fine has been coming up as a sanctioning tool in a wide range of policy fields. The supranational dimension takes more and more importance. All legislation with roots at the EU-level is subject to an enforcement obligation that the ECJ helped to shape, with its judgment in the Greek Maize case (1989) as milestone judgment. The European Court of Human Rights developed extensive case law regarding the procedural and material guarantees persons involved are entitled to. The jurisprudence of both courts keeps evolving. Victims of offences have nowadays considerably more rights as they used to have a while ago. Civil parties in criminal cases, for instance, have a definitely stronger position now than at the beginning of this century.

Case-tailored assistance

In Europe, law enforcement mainly involves administrative law, criminal law and human rights, with a supranational dimension. Our knowledge of the many shapes of law enforcement increases. Policy fields where public authorities and citizens collaborate closely to achieve social goals, such as health care or care of the elderly and the conservation of historic buildings and monuments, require other enforcement models and strategies than policy areas without such collaborative pattern. Support for compliance assurance can be crucial. In each case again enforcement is a matter of an equilibrated balancing  of effectiveness, proportionality, social economy, problem solving, protection against recidivism and respect for legal guarantees and for third parties that suffered damages.

The EQUAL-team assists its clients in legislative work and policy development. It offers support throughout enforcement trajectories to public authorities (federal, regional of local), companies, NGO’s and private citizens, in the administrative, criminal and civil sanctioning tracks.

 

Photo: EQUAL team

Contrôle & sanction  - EQUAL team

Contrôle & sanction

Contrôle & sanction du droit sont omniprésents. En l’absence de contrôle & sanction, le droit reste lettre morte. EQUAL accompagne des pouvoirs publics, entreprises, asbl’s et particuliers dans des trajectoires de contrôle & sanction.

Omniprésent, complexe et varié

Le droit du contrôle et de la sanction a fort évolué ces dernières décennies. Les législateurs pensent de plus en plus en termes d’un modèle de contrôle & sanction ou le droit pénal et le droit administratif sont mis à l’œuvre de manière complémentaire. Ainsi l’amende administrative connait un succès grandissant depuis une vingtaine d’années. La dimension supranationale acquiert une importance accrue. Toute législation qui a ses racines au niveau de l’UE fait l’objet d’une obligation de contrôle & sanction que la Cour de Justice européenne à contribuée à établir, avec son arrêt dans l’affaire du Maïs grecque (1989) comme arrêt de principe. La Cour européenne des droits de l’homme a développé une jurisprudence étendue concernant les garanties procédurales et matérielles auxquelles les personnes concernées ont droit. La jurisprudence des deux cours continue à se préciser. Les victimes de délits ont à ce jour bien plus de droits qu’auparavant. Ainsi les parties civiles ont au pénal une position bien plus forte qu’au début de ce siècle.

Accompagnement sur mesure

Le droit du contrôle et de la sanction fait appel au droit administratif, au droit pénal et au droits et libertés fondamentaux, avec une dimension supranationale. La connaissances des formes multiples que le contrôle et la sanction peuvent adopter, progresse. Les politiques où les autorités publiques œuvrent en collaboration étroite avec le citoyen pour réaliser les buts sociaux, telles que les soins aux personnes malades ou âgées et la conservation des monuments, ont besoin d’autres formules de contrôle & sanction que les politiques où cet élément coopératif fait défaut. Un soutien à l’observation des normes peut être crucial. Dans chaque dossier concret, contrôle & sanction sont une question d’équilibre entre efficacité, proportionnalité, économie sociale, solution du problème créé, protection contre une récidive et respect des garanties légales et des tiers qui ont souffert des dommages.

EQUAL aide ses clients dans des dossiers législatifs et de développement de stratégies. Elle accompagne des autorités (de fédérales et régionales à locales), entreprises, asbl’s et particuliers dans des trajectoires de contrôle & sanction qui font appel au droit administratif, pénal et civil.

 

Photo: EQUAL team